McNair Scholars Program Admits New Cohort

The McNair Scholars Program recently completed the 2017 academic year recruiting period and finalized the rising senior and rising junior cohorts. 

The rising senior cohort consists of eight students including:

Mohamed Abdirisak,  Neuroscience

Oluwatobi (John) Adebayo,  Applied Physics

Tonya Dickie,  Pre-Occupational Therapy

Aaron Griffin,  Informatics

William Jettinghoff,  Psychology

Mandy Reed,  Game Design

Skyla Turner,  Gender Studies & Sociology

The rising junior cohort includes:

Ian ChavezNeuroscience

KC Cifizzari,  Biology

Jessica Duke,  Human Biology & Anthropology

Jaclyn Flores,  Linguistics & Spanish

Tyeisha Fordham,  Criminal Justice & Psychology

Alondra Galvan Briones,  Community Health

Elio Seni,  Microbiology & Mathematics

Undergraduate students in the McNair Program participate in activities that prepare them for the rigors of graduate school and strengthen their graduate application. All scholars complete at least one summer research project and attend research conferences. Senior McNair Scholars also spend time the summer before their senior year preparing graduate school application materials such as the Statement of Purpose and Curriculum Vitae. McNair Scholars are currently attending seminars every Friday to begin preparing for the Summer Research Program. The seminars began with an introduction to the McNair Program and have since covered topics including finding a mentor; identifying a research interest; writing a literature review; and preparing a research plan. The Office of Research Ethics, Education and Policy presented a seminar discussing the topic of research integrity/misconduct and compliance, human subjects research and the IRB process.